Bookish Travels: Oxfam Bookshop, Lancaster

It’s the dawn of a new year, and I think it’s high time I wrote a review of what is probably one of my most favourite bookshops of all time. Before I start, I’d like to acknowledge that there are many dozens of bookshops which are more quaint, more quirky, more atmospheric and exciting than this one – including those I’ve written about here before. It is neither independent nor unique, forming part of a chain of shops you can find all over. Ultimately, it’s just a very dear shop to me, with massive sentimental value.

I’ve had a thoroughly (sometimes mind-numbingly) restful Christmas, broken up by occasional, lovely interludes: spending time with childhood friends, fawning over Timothee Chalamet in Little Women on the big screen, and later a sweet, fleeting visit to Lancaster, around 45 minutes away from Blackpool. For those who have never been to Lancaster, it really is very pretty. Sat on the edge of the stunning expanse of the Lake District, the small city boasts gorgeous stone civic buildings and shop fronts, stately mansions, row houses, pubs, former factories, warehouses and churches. There is even an 11th century castle overlooking the River Lune, famed for its dark history (see: Lancashire Witch Trials), and the exquisite Williamson Park, home to the beautiful domed Ashton Memorial, outdoor theatre and cinema screenings, lush woodland, an Edwardian butterfly house and even a mini zoo.

It’s one of my favourite places, especially as I’ve visited it so often and with so many important people. It was mine and my Mum’s most popular destination for an impulsive day-trip, and as a result I associate it largely with her. I also took a few boyfriends on the train there over the years. I even took my pen-pal and dear Swedish friend Maja there for an afternoon, when she visited me back in Summer 2014.

During every single visit – without fail – I took whoever I’d dragged with me to the Oxfam Bookshop on Penny Street. It’s a tiny Oxfam charity shop which sells vinyls, DVDs, postcards, curios and wholesome homeware but, unlike most other charity shops, principally devotes itself to the sale of second-hand books. It boasts a huge literature and fiction section, as well as shelves dedicated to history, poetry, languages, social sciences, natural sciences, theology – even music. What makes its collections so exciting is the fact that Lancaster is, largely, a university city, and thus acquires large numbers of books donated by students. The books, therefore, are usually in great condition (since the reader will have used them for around 8 weeks, then passed them on once their exams are done), and span such a wide range of interests and authors. The books on offer are always changing, too, which means every visit is fresh and thoroughly engrossing.

The Holy land

I’m a huge fan of charity shops as it is. You may have noticed I’m near-constantly bemoaning the price of books (which is so dumb, I know, but hardbacks especially are just extortionate), and it’s probably because for most of my life I bought absolutely all of my books from charity shops, with brand new books being handed to me as gifts on my birthday or at Christmas. Yes, I’m frugal – stingy even – but being able to buy books for anything between 50p and £4, with all profits going to charity? What’s not to absolutely love? Oxfam in particular has a special place in my heart, not least since they’ve recently been filling their shelves with official Moomin products – everything from trays, magnets, badges, tote bags and flasks to gorgeous mini hardback editions of classic Moomin books – of which I’ve already (frantically) impulse-bought a fair few!

Another thing which makes this bookshop in particular quite special is the perpetual friendliness and warmth of the staff who are all, naturally, volunteers. Every single person who has served me there has been chatty and welcoming, with a couple of them making a particularly striking impression owing to their ridiculously wide and passionate knowledge of literature and non-fiction. They cultivate such a matchless, laid-back vibe in there, too. You could stay for hours on end with no pressure to make any purchases. It really is one of the loveliest places ever. (And, if you ever happen to go, I highly recommend also popping over to Lancaster’s Dukes, a theatre and cinema which screens the most fantastic independent flicks in a sumptuously nostalgic setting. I have wonderful memories of watching East of Eden and Ken Loach’s formidable Spirit of ’45 there, and at such a cheap price.)

And finally, just to end an aside – a very sweet, bookish thing happened to me when I visited Lancaster over the holidays which I wanted to share. So, from Boxing Day onwards Waterstones held a huge sale, with many books being sold for up to around 50% off. I used this opportunity to buy a title I’ve been dying to grab for months now – Max Porter’s critically acclaimed sophomore novel, Lanny. (You can find my review of his astonishing debut novel here.) I ordered it online and went to pick it up from Blackpool Waterstones some days later. However, when I opened it up at home, I noticed that the inside of the book’s jacket was ripped really badly and would need to be returned and swapped. I decided to do this over at Lancaster Waterstones while visiting, and was served by the loveliest member of staff (- it can’t just be me who deeply envies absolutely everyone who works in a bookshop, right?) Not only did she offer to swap the book without a moment’s hesitation, but she even immediately offered to upgrade it to the absolutely stunning Waterstones exclusive edition – including endpapers and an extra scene, and marked at double the price of what I’d originally paid!

It was such a fabulous gesture, and made me more thrilled than I’m willing to admit. If what I’ve already read of Porter, along with the riotous acclaim which has been roused by Lanny are anything to go by, I’m certain it will be absolutely incredible. I’ll be sure to review it ASAP!



Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started